About   C-SPAN Video Library   Portrait Gallery   Classroom

About this
web site
American Writers: a journey through history is a permanent archive for educators, researchers and every one interested in the writers featured in the  C‑SPAN series.



David Halberstam
Born: April 10, 1934 - New York, New York
Died: April 23, 2007 - Menlo Park, California

After graduating from Harvard University, Halberstam worked as a reporter for the Nashville Tennessean (1956-60). He joined the New York Times in 1960 and was a foreign correspondent in the Congo, Vietnam, and Poland, receiving a Pulitzer Prize in 1964. With The Making of a Quagmire (1965) and Ho (1971), he began a series of books about politics and international relations, focusing on the Vietnam War. The Best and the Brightest (1972), a highly critical study of the leading foreign-policy figures in the Kennedy and Johnson administrations, became enormously successful and made Halberstam's name widely known. It was followed by such books as The Powers That Be (1979), about the increasing power of the news media; The Reckoning (1986), about the Japanese and American auto industries; The Fifties (1993), about American culture through the decade; and The Children (1998), about Southern civil-rights advocates of the 1960s. His books about baseball and other sports include Playing for Keeps (1999), about Michael Jordan. Halberstam's novels include The Noblest Roman (1961) and One Very Hot Day (1968).

Works by David Halberstam
The Noblest Roman (novel, 1961)
The Making of a Quagmire (1965)
One Very Hot Day (novel, 1968)
Ho (1971)
The Best and the Brightest (1972)
The Powers That Be (1979)
The Reckoning (1986)
The Fifties (1993)
The Children (1998)
Playing for Keeps (1999)

Neil Sheehan
Born: October 27, 1936 - Holyoke, Massachusetts

After graduating from Harvard University, Sheehan served in the army (1959-62). He went to Vietnam as bureau chief for United Press
International, and as a correspondent for the New York Times from 1964 he reported on the Vietnam War from Saigon and later Washington, D.C. In 1971 he obtained the classified Pentagon Papers from Daniel Ellsberg; his story in the Times about the secret
Works by Neil Sheehan
The Arnheiter Affair (1972)
A Bright Shining Lie (1988)
After the War Was Over (1992)
history of the war related in the documents resulted in strenuous government attempts to halt publication and became perhaps the most celebrated news story of the decade.

Sheehan's first book, The Arnheiter Affair (1972), deals with the flawed captain of a naval vessel. He spent some 15 years on his best-known work, A Bright Shining Lie (1988); a biography of Col. John Paul Vann that illuminates much of the war's history, it won universal acclaim and received the Pulitzer Prize. It was followed by After the War Was Over (1992).

His wife, Susan Sheehan, is the author of several admired studies of the lives of members of the American underclass, including Is There No Place on Earth for Me? (1983, Pulitzer Prize).

Web sites about Halberstam & Sheehan
David Halberstam
Institute of International Studies, UC Berkeley, Conversations with History: Neil Sheehan

I   II   III   IV   V   VI   VII   VIII

C-SPAN.org    Book TV.org    Booknotes.org    Capitol Hearings.org
American Presidents.org    C-SPAN Alert!    Contact Us