About   C-SPAN Video Library   Portrait Gallery   Classroom

About this
web site
American Writers: a journey through history is a permanent archive for educators, researchers and every one interested in the writers featured in the  C‑SPAN series.


Born: September 25, 1897 - New Albany, Mississippi
Died: July 6, 1962 - near Oxford, Mississippi

Faulkner dropped out of high school in his second year, joined the Royal Air Force-Canada in World War I (but did not fly), and later endured a brief stint at the University of Mississippi before working
Watch the video
William Faulkner, The American Language
C-SPAN's Video Library: William Faulkner
at a series of odd jobs, including university postmaster (1921-24). A neighbor helped fund publication of his first book, the cycle of pastoral poems The Marble Faun (1924). His first novel, Soldier's Pay (1926), told of the return to Georgia of a fatally wounded aviator. Sartoris (1929) was the first of his Yoknapatawpha novels; The Sound And The Fury (1929), his first masterwork, continued the cycle.

In the years 1930-42 Faulkner published two collections of stories, a second book of poems (A Green Bough, 1933), and nine novels—As I Lay Dying (1930), Sanctuary (1931), Light In August (1932), Pylon (1935), Absalom, Absalom! (1936), The Unvanquished (1938), The Wild Palms (1939), The Hamlet (1940), and Go Down, Moses (1942), which includes the story The Bear. By 1945, however, his novels were effectively out of print. From 1932 until 1955 he worked intermittently writing screenplays in Hollywood to supplement his meager income from book royalties; his film scripts include To Have and Have Not (1944) and The Big Sleep (1946).

His long-delayed ascent to international fame began with the publication in 1946 of the paperback Portable Faulkner, edited by Malcolm Cowley, which introduced his Yoknapatawpha cycle as a whole. Intruder in the Dust appeared in 1948. In 1949
Works by William Faulkner
The Marble Faun (1924)
Soldier's Pay (1926)
Sartoris (1929)
The Sound And The Fury (1929)
As I Lay Dying (1930)
Sanctuary (1931)
Light In August (1932)
A Green Bough, (1933)
Pylon (1935)
Absalom, Absalom! (1936)
The Unvanquished (1938)
The Wild Palms (1939)
The Hamlet (1940)
Go Down, Moses (1942)
Intruder in the Dust (1948)
Collected Stories (1950)
Requiem for a Nun (play, 1951)
A Fable (1954, Pulitzer Prize)
The Town (1957)
The Mansion (1959)
The Reivers (1962, Pulitzer Prize)
Faulkner was awarded the Nobel Prize; his acceptance speech became the most quoted of all Nobel Prize speeches.

Faulkner's Collected Stories, published in 1950, won the National Book Award. Requiem for a Nun, a sequel to Sanctuary in the form of a three-act play with a narrative prologue to each act, appeared in 1951. He worked nearly 10 years on his longest novel, A Fable (1954, Pulitzer Prize), and he rounded out the Yoknapatawpha story with The Town (1957), The Mansion (1959), and The Reivers (1962, Pulitzer Prize).

Web sites about William Faulkner
John B. Padgett's William Faulkner on the Web
The Mississippi Writers Page: William Faulkner

I   II   III   IV   V   VI   VII   VIII

C-SPAN.org    Book TV.org    Booknotes.org    Capitol Hearings.org
American Presidents.org    C-SPAN Alert!    Contact Us